Getting the best

I remember making an FM radio based communication system during the second year of my engineering. I really liked it once I made it.

One of my classmates suggested the loud speaker section to be refined more, so I changed the loud speaker unit with proper impedance matching. Another classmate pointed out the coil which set the frequency of the radio was not properly working. So wound 6 turns of the coil tightly, side-by-side, on the cylinder, then slipped the wire off. Made the winding apart from each other so the whole coil was just under an inch long.  And mounted the ends of the wire on the circuit board keeping some clearance between the coil and the circuit board. It worked more better now.

Someone else suggested I should add another kind of tuning capacitor for much better reception.
Then I replaced it with the better one.

Our Professor for Electronics Circuits-2, who’s passing by then, seen what I was doing and recommended some design changes that greatly improved the audio circuit, making it strong enough for regular earphones or even a small speaker.
And my pet project caught so many eyes and it’s got nominated to the then coming seminar.

My intention is not to show off what I did. But my point is…if I was particularly sensitive to criticism, what would happen then?

I realized that no matter what we do, people will always criticize our work, whether they say so or not.
Forming judgments or pointing out faults is something most people do. Everyone gets criticized.
It’s a part of life. But gettting the best out of all is the most important thing in order to make a project a success.

2 thoughts on “Getting the best

  1. Jayasree says:

    Idea is always perfect until implementation. There’s one more observation i made about these feedbacks. They pop-up only after the idea is implemented. Like the transition from wired to wireless…so on.

  2. Deepak Menon says:

    Such a penetrating little experience you have had with the project – and what was noticed was that you have clearly sent a message to people who want to aspire towarda better things or perfection is “One has to be a listener and be able to understand the difference between ‘criticism’ and ‘suggestion’ – so Gangadhar could not only understand the suggestions but could also put them to use and got the project refined step by step till he got the recommedations he aspired for.
    Nice to see this little story Ganga..

Leave a Reply

