Intelligence or Wisdom

Sarathi: Hey Ganga. do you know the difference between Intelligence and Wisdom?
Ganga: Umm..Not so sure..Guess both are one and the same? or Intelligence could be how inteligent you could react to a problem spontaneously and wisdom could be like how you…..Oh, c’mon..i give up.. you tell me…your take?
Sarathi: Haha. Ganga, let me narrate a small incident before i tell the difference. There was a conversation between one father and his 10 year old son.
Father: Deepu. what do you wanna become when you grow up?
Deepu: i wanna become a great scientist…Wanna invent more and more useful things to the public. Wanna earn more money.. And you know, wanna build my own big and big house with a big lawn…so many rooms inside..separate study rooms for my kids, guests, different rooms depending on my mood, office rooms for me and my wife…a wide variety of cars for all of my family members……….(his imagination goes on like that..)
Father: Deepu..wait..wait.. But where are we, me and Mama in your story?
Deepu: How come you will be living with my family? It will be just me and my family, right? That’s what you are also doing….my grand pa and ma are not living with us…..
Sarathi: See Ganga. That Deepu has applied his intelligence to determine that his father and mother will not be living with him in his future story, because of his Dad’s experience. Deepu utilized whatever knowledge he has and applied practically. But here is the wisdom. He may or may not know why his Dad parents are not living with his Dad. Point here is – he doesnt have the maturity to determine or understand why his grand parents are away from them. That maturity itself is wisdom. We need to impart our kids to go to that maturity level..
Ganga: Hmm..Sarathi, i think, i could understand the difference now. For example, let’s say, one person is earning two hundred thousand a month and another person is earning just one hundred thousand a month. If the second person saves 20 K per month and if the first person saves just 10 K per month….I can say that first person is more intelligent than the second person…..but the second person is more wiser than the first person?
Sarathi: Fantastic, Ganga… That’s the thing…
The above conversation happened between me and my colony friend, during this weekend while going to a farm house…. food for thought?
Leave a Reply

