BIG vs small

Have you ever heard people saying, “I wish I could do something great with my life.” Or, “I wish I could collect enough money to build some orphanages.” Someone actually said to me today, “I want to make a BIG difference. I don’t want to waste my time on small stuff.”
We often forget, myself included, that sometimes the smallest difference can have the biggest impact.
Being a good friend, a great parent, a compassionate bystander, a good listener and even simply just being there for someone who is scared and lonely, can have a huge impact.
Not everyone is destined to be a Mahatma Gandhi or a Mother Teresa but so many people feel that their life will be of little value unless they do something on a large scale. This is not true. Often it comes down to one act of kindness, one word of encouragement, one expression of gratitude.

8 responses to “BIG vs small”

  1. I’ve had some experiences but they would be labeled materialistic. It could be simple things like writing down ideas or exchanging business cards – These have had some big impact of getting me a new job or helping me achieve a lot more in my projects.

    LEARNING: Do every small bit – You never know when it might result in the biggest things of all.

  2. Well, like Arathi, I agree too. But, I and so many others, am sure, must have experienced that feeling of doing “BIG” and esp, in their teens!

    But come to think of it, Mahatma Gandhi himself said, that “charity begins at home”, so it makes a lot of sense to help or make a difference for someone at home. Small things definitely matter. Imagine every home having one person making small differences, all homes add upto a society and all societies to the country at large!

    Thts such a BIG Difference!

  3. I totally second your thought. So many times it is the small things that matter more than the big things. We often forget that perspective. Lovely post. Awesome come back. hope to hear from you more often.

  4. **Often it comes down to one act of kindness, one word of encouragement, one expression of gratitude

    thats soooo true!

    Keshi.

  5. The small things enable the BIG things…if either Mahatma Gandhi or Mother Theresa wouldn’t have done those small trivial things called compassion and humaneness they would not be who they are.

Leave a comment