Sounds romantic!

You get to sit alone in a room all day until the words swim.

It’s lonely writing. You sit all by yourself in a room while other people in office buildings stand around the movie gossiping and spreading awful rumors like extra-marital affairs,infidelity..

You sit all alone in a room while people in cubicles discuss things like pay checks and insurance.

So, you spend hours alone writing. Then you spend hours looking at the words you have written and wonder what made you think that you could write in the first place. I mean, people are not chosen as writers. There’s no certification. There’s no test. They just decide themselves. I just decided. “Mmm,” I thought. “I’m going to be a writer. It sounds romantic.”

10 thoughts on “Sounds romantic!

  1. There is romance in being alone too.

  2. Abaniko says:

    I read somewhere that if you want to be a writer, prepare yourself to be alone most of the time. You have to read a lot alone and you have to write a lot alone too. But as long as you enjoy your craft, there shouldn’t be any poblem with it. Anyway, we are destined to be alone one way or another. Cheers!

  3. Jolvin says:

    Sometimes looking at ones old work, makes them wonder if it was really them who wrote it. Sometimes in loneliness creativity blossoms.

  4. Cuckoo says:

    Hmmm… lonliness is romantic as well !!!

    Ever been near a window looking at the rains with occasional little showers splashing on your face ??

  5. rk says:

    i am happy to be alone.
    i am alone to be happy.

  6. Vaishnavi says:

    For me solitude is bliss.
    I somehow find a dash of gloom in your post. I hope not writer’s block.

  7. The irony of writing is in your solitude you are creating a world of multitudes !

  8. jarvarm says:

    Educated Unemployed:
    You’re so true. 🙂

    Abaniko:
    Good to see ya mate! 🙂
    And yea you’re right at everything you said.

    Jolvin:
    Me felt like this so many times. Particularly when i’m goin through my entries on my old blog.

    Cuckoo:
    Hmm..Rains..That’s what i’m doing right now 😉

    rk:

    gud one. 🙂

    Vaishnavi:

    Thank ya..
    Nope..me hope so too.

    Moods and Colors:

    well said,Anj. 🙂

  9. chitra says:

    Writing sure is lonely , but to write you need to be part of the crowd. so that you get ideas . Or not it wd be just an “inspiration” from another write up!!!

  10. --Sunrise-- says:

    Reading the word “writer” and “romantic” together brings back memories of when I first read this poem, by Shakespeare’s wife, Anne Hathaway.. written by Carol Ann Duffy..

    Anne Hathaway
    by Carol Ann Duffy from The World’s Wife

    ‘Item I gyve unto my wife my second best bed …’
    (from Shakespeare’s will)

    The bed we loved in was a spinning world
    of forests, castles, torchlight, clifftops, seas
    where we would dive for pearls. My lover’s words
    were shooting stars which fell to earth as kisses
    on these lips; my body now a softer rhyme
    to his, now echo, assonance; his touch
    a verb dancing in the centre of a noun.
    Some nights, I dreamed he’d written me, the bed
    a page beneath his writer’s hands. Romance
    and drama played by touch, by scent, by taste.
    In the other bed, the best, our guests dozed on,
    dribbling their prose. My living laughing love –
    I hold him in the casket of my widow’s head
    as he held me upon that next best bed.

    It sure does sound romantic, being a writer. 😉

Leave a Reply

